The Community First Cares Foundation, the charitable arm of Community First Credit Union, awarded 10 PowerUP Jax innovation grants to public school teachers in Duval County. Each recipient will receive a $500 grant to support their in-class projects. A volunteer committee awarded the grants based on project proposals that were based on creativity and prioritized hands-on learning experiences to raise student achievement.

Check out the 10 winners and learn more about their innovative projects too.

Misty Allen, John N.C. Stockon Elementary

Cheryl Clavon, Palm Avenue Exceptional Student Center

Thuvan DeBellis, Oceanway Elementary

Kelly DeSousa, Palm Avenue Exceptional Student Center

Gayle Fiser, Darnell-Cookman Middle/High School

Mai Keisling, Paxon School for Advanced Studies

Riley Krotz, Duncan U. Fletcher Middle School

Kelly Lewis, Duval Charter School at Baymeadows

Jennifer Norton, John N.C. Stockton Elementary School

Terry Woodlief, Central Riverside Elementary School