• Home »
  • News »
  • Five finalists announced for 2018 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year

Five finalists announced for 2018 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year

December 20, 2017



Five finalists announced for 2018 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year 

JACKSONVILLE, Fla., Dec. 20, 2017 — Five exceptional public school educators were named finalists for the 2018 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year today. 

The finalists were selected by a committee of educators, community members and business leaders from a preliminary round of semifinalists. All five will be on stage at the 27th Annual EDDY Awards on Friday, February 2, where one will be named 2018 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year.

The finalists are: 

Stephanie Bellino, Garden City Elementary School

Tabetha Cox, Sadie T. Tillis Elementary School

Alicia Lloyd, Youth Development Programs: PreTrial Detention Facility

Abe Reising, Mandarin High School

Will Smith, Mayport Coastal Sciences Middle School

The teachers were surprised in their classrooms with a prize patrol that included Duval County Public Schools Chairwoman Paula Wright, Superintendent Dr. Patricia Willis and Jacksonville Public Education Fund President Trey Csar.

“The oftentimes challenging work teachers do shapes what our city is and what it has the potential to be,” Csar said. “The Teacher of the Year program gives the community a glimpse into some of the excellent work teachers are doing to improve the lives of tomorrow’s future leaders. It is an honor to spend the day with these amazing educators and to learn from them how we, as a community, can better live up to our shared responsibility to support everything these educators do.”

Honoring the county’s most exceptional educators, the EDDY Awards, an initiative of the Jacksonville Public Education Fund, have evolved over the last few years into a year-long initiative building a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the community and who work to improve our schools, accelerate student achievement and elevate the teaching profession. A list of all school-level teachers of the year is available at jaxpef.org.

The 2018 EDDY Awards will take place February 2 at the Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. Tickets to the EDDY Awards can be purchased at eddyawardsjax.org for $75 per person.

Contact Charmaine Campo, Senior Manager of Marketing & Communications, at (904) 790-1178 or Charmaine@jaxpef.org for photos of the finalists and more information.


About the Jacksonville Public Education Fund
The Jacksonville Public Education Fund is an independent nonprofit organization that works to spark innovation, relationships and resources to power the potential within and around our public schools to achieve excellent outcomes for all students. For more information, visit www.jaxpef.org or call (904) 356-7757.