Jacksonville Public Education Fund Director to Serve on State Accountability Task Force


The Florida Department of Education today announced the members of its upcoming school grades advisory task force, and the Jacksonville Public Education Fund is honored to be among them.  The task force was called for by the State Board of Education last week in response to concerns about some new factors involved in determining school grades this year.  The members, including our Director of Data and Policy Dr. Jason Rose, will be asked to review a number of new rule changes to school accountability grades set to go into effect this year and determine whether any remaining adjustments need to be made in the interest of making sure Florida's accountability system is a fair and accurate measurement of student performance over time. 

Among the major issues expected to be discussed are a change in the proficiency threshold for FCAT Writing, the incorporation of new EOC scores in the calculations, and how ESE schools and students placed in alternative centers are accounted for.

The full list of task force members is listed below.  For more information, see the FLDOE's announcement here.


FLDOE School Grades Advisory Task Force:


Alberto Carvalho (Miami-Dade County)
MaryEllen Elia (Hillsborough County)
Malcolm Thomas (Escambia County)
Margaret Smith (Volusia County)
Wally Cox (Highlands County)

Education Leaders:

Will Krebs (Chief of Staff, FDOE)
Kim McDougal (Education Coordinator, Governor's Office)
Jason Rose (Director of Data and Policy, Jacksonville Public Education Fund)
Dale Chu (Chief of Staff, FDOE)
Senator Bill Montford
Tony Bennett (Commissioner, FDOE)





of public schools in Duval County earned an "A," "B," or "C" in 2021-2022.