36 Duval schools selected as “Schools of Excellence” in third year


The Florida Department of Education (FLDOE) has designated 36 Duval County Public Schools (DCPS) as “Schools of Excellence” for the 2018-19 school year, five more than in 2017-18.

Schools of Excellence now make up nearly 1 in 5 of Duval County’s public schools, which include traditional district and charter schools. As DCPS gets closer and closer to an “A” district grade, this increase reflects the achievement happening every day in our classrooms.

The “Schools of Excellence” program was created in 2016 under House Bill 7069. To be eligible, a school must rank in the 80th percentile or higher for district schools with the same grade levels (i.e. elementary schools) in two of the last three school years. Both traditional public schools and public charter schools can be selected.

Once chosen, a school remains a School of Excellence for three years, and may then be renewed if:

  • The school was in the 80th percentile or higher for two of the last three school years, and
  • Receive a grade of “A” or “B” in each of the three most recent school years.

A school loses its designation if it earns a “C” or below during the three-year period and the accompanying flexibility described below.

“Schools of Excellence” were created to give high-performing traditional public schools more control over how they operate, similar to the autonomy afforded to public charter schools. Schools of Excellence can:

  • Make it easier for teachers to renew their teaching certificates by substituting one year of employment for 20 in-service points;
  • Have more flexibility in their curriculum, bypassing state requirements that require a minimum period of daily or weekly reading instruction;
  • Determine start and end times for the school day that are separate from school district policies and procedures;
  • Have more principal autonomy over personnel management, including hiring and budget decisions; and
  • Calculate class size based on the schoolwide average instead of a classroom count.

Across the state, there are now Schools of Excellence at 422 elementary schools, 132 middle schools, 106 high schools, and 115 combination schools.

In Duval, these schools are (new additions are in italics):


Fishweir Elementary School

Dinsmore Elementary School

Hogan-Spring Glen Elementary School

Atlantic Beach Elementary School

Hendricks Avenue Elementary School

San Pablo Elementary School

John Stockton Elementary School

River City Science Elementary Academy

J. Allen Axson Elementary School

Jacksonville Beach Elementary School

New Berlin Elementary School

Bartram Springs Elementary

Seabreeze Elementary School

Kernan Trail Elementary School

Chimney Lakes Elementary School

Sabal Palm Elementary School

Neptune Beach Elementary School

Alimacani Elementary School

Mandarin Oaks Elementary School

Chets Creek Elementary School

Biscayne Elementary School

Seaside Community Charter School


Kirby-Smith Middle School

Julia Landon College Preparatory & Leadership Development School

Duncan U. Fletcher Middle School

James Weldon Johnson College Preparatory Middle School

LaVilla School of the Arts


Paxon School of Advanced Studies

Douglas Anderson School of the Arts

Duval Charter High School at Baymeadows

Stanton College Preparatory School

Sandalwood High School



Duval Charter at Baymeadows

Darnell Cookman Middle and High School

Duval Charter School at Flagler Center

River City Science Academy at Mandarin


The complete list of the selected Florida schools is available here. 




of public schools in Duval County earned an "A," "B," or "C" in 2021-2022.