40 Duval educators complete JPEF Summer Residency to help drive equitable outcomes in their schools

Principals, assistant principals, and teacher leaders worked together for three days to learn best practices to improve student outcomes.


JACKSONVILLE, Fla., July 12, 2021 — Last week, 40 leading public school educators came together to learn about best practices to drive education equity in their schools through the Jacksonville Public Education Fund’s Summer Residency.

The Residency brought world-class professional learning to public school educators, including those from traditional public schools and public charter schools. Residents heard inspirational talks from national experts on education equity, including Gloria Ladson-Billings of the University of Wisconsin-Madison, David Kirkland of New York University, and April Warren-Grice, founder of Liberated Genius.

In addition, residents learned practical skills, developed relationships with one another, and took time to plan for the next school year. Expert sessions over three days allowed residents to take a deep dive into building collective leadership teams, developing restorative justice practices to improve student behavior, and implementing trauma-informed care. The goal of the residency was to promote best practices in educational equity and to retain Duval’s highest-performing teachers.

“It’s a testament to the commitment of Duval County’s public school educators that they took time after this stressful year to do even more in service of students,” said JPEF President Rachael Tutwiler Fortune. “I’m incredibly grateful to our residents for their work, and I look forward to seeing the impact of the learning on student outcomes this year.”

Participants included about 30 principals, assistant principals, and instructional coaches at Title I elementary schools, including 12 School Leadership Fellows, whom JPEF supports over three years with additional coaching and grant funding. Eight teacher leaders also participated in the training to prepare them as peer coaches for the 48 fellows in JPEF’s Teacher Leadership Initiative this year.

This work would not be possible without the generous support of JPEF partners, including the Consortium of Florida Education Foundations, Florida state representatives and their support for the School District Education Foundation Matching Grant Program, Delores Barr Weaver, Deutsche Bank, Equitable Advisors, and Mayo Clinic.

JPEF congratulates all the educators who were selected to participate in JPEF’s strategic initiatives this year. A full list of participants is below.


School Leader Residents

Claire St. Amand, Bayview Elementary

Tracey Kendrick, Brookview Elementary

Marianne Lee,  Mamie Agnes Jones Elementary

Jessica Sales, Normandy Village Elementary

Lawanda Polydore, Northwestern Legends Academy

Torra Talbot, S. P. Livingston

Jasmin Esparza Gomez, San Jose Elementary

Teresa Dowdell-Brown, Southside Estates Elementary

Franklin Graham, Long Branch Elementary

Kristi Kincaid, RL Brown Gifted and Talented Academy

Faith Roberts-Graham, Ruth Upson Elementary

Laquitrice Johnson, Martin L. King Elementary

Andrea Williams-Scott, Jacksonville Heights

Natasha Clark, Merrill Road Elementary

Angela Jordan, Whitehouse Elementary

Paula Findlay, Arlington Elementary

Marla Almon, Wayman Academy

Erica Little-Bartley, Hyde Grove Elementary

Sanaa McBride, Biscayne Elementary 

Violet Stovall, Fort Caroline Elementary

Michelle Walsh, Lake Lucina Elementary

Helen Dunbar, Sadie T. Tillis Elementary

Jacqueline Jones, Westside K-8

Charles McWhite, Tiger Academy

Tiffany Green, Annie R. Morgan Elementary

Shawn Platts, Arlington Middle

Jamey Hough, River City Science Academy

Latrece Brown Sudduth, Lake Lucina Elementary

Kendall Parris, Annie R. Morgan Elementary

Gladys Barrington, Biscayne Elementary

Keshayla Wooten, Biscayne Elementary


Teacher Leader Coaches

Laura Ache - Atlantic Coast High

Raine Araya – Beauclerc - Elementary

Nadine Ebri - Southside Middle

Madison Kellenberger - Northwestern Legends

Caran Mullins - Seabreeze Elementary

Jamie  Puckett - Beauclerc Elementary

Leslie White - DCPS Science Coach


Teacher Leader Fellows

Avery Vaughn, Highlands Elementary

Gisell Bacerra, San Jose Elementary

Staci Pendry, John E Ford Prek-8 Montessori School 

Kimberly Parker, Lake Lucina Elementary

Ashlie  Wilson, Beauclerc Elementary

Jesica Pearce, Lake Lucina Elementary

Katie Kiefaber, Matthew Gilbert Middle

Melissa Trocchio, Atlantic Coast High

Emma Marquis, Paxon School for Advanced Studies

Collette Piper, Mamie Agnes Jones Elementary

Cathy McCray-Abbi, Greenfield Elementary

Asheia Miller, Annie R Morgan Elementary

Barbara Wright, Long Branch Elementary

Mfon Akpatae, Northwestern Legends Elementary

Marilyn Brissett, Sadie Tillis Elementary

Maryjane Cassette, Sabal Palm Elementary

Stephanie Brookshire, Normandy Village Elementary

Christine Bell, Chets Creek Elementary

Stephanie Scannapieco, Seabreeze Elementary

Adrienne Lodico, San Jose Elementary

Sandra Waymer, Lake Lucina Elementary

Jenifer Straley, Lake Lucina Elementary

Leslie Jones, Duval Virtual Instruction Academy

Samantha Kimmel, Florida Cyber Charter Academy

Rhianna Scyster, Bridge to Success Academy

Georgette Cooper, Enterprise Learning Academy

Vickey Walker, Highland Elementary

Amneris  Rodriguez Lugo, Biltmore Elementary

Regina Haywood, Mandarin High

Christine Klein, Northwestern Legends Elementary

Latanya Dewberry, Annie R Morgan Elementary

April McRae, Jacksonville Heights Elementary

April Hinson, Sadie Tillis Elementary

Jacqueline Lewis, Sadie Tillis Elementary

Crystal Jefferson, Jacksonville Heights Elementary

Shyrell Brown, River City Science Academy Innovation K-8

Lori Cheanvechai, Jacksonville Beach Elementary

Leslie Wilkinson, Garden City Elementary 

Kashia Cannon, Normandy Village Elementary

Tess Nettles, George W. Carver Elementary


Media Contact: Stephanie Garry Garfunkel, Director of Marketing & Communications, at (352) 359-2393 or stephanie@jaxpef.org for more information.

For questions about JPEF's Strategic Initiatives: Warren Buck, Director of Strategic Initiatives, warren@jaxpef.org.



About the Jacksonville Public Education Fund

The Jacksonville Public Education Fund is an independent think-and-do tank that believes in the potential of all students. We work tirelessly to close the opportunity gap for low-income students and students of color. We convene educators, school system leaders and the community to pilot and help scale evidence-based solutions that advance school quality in Duval County. For more information: www.jaxpef.org.




of public schools in Duval County earned an "A," "B," or "C" in 2021-2022.