See all five teacher of the year finalists interviewed on Channel 4


While many of us are at our desks or cubicles everyday, there are men and women on their feet in classrooms, working tirelessly to prepare a new generation to enter the workforce. On February 24, close to 900 community members will gather for the 26th Annual EDDY Awards to celebrate these crucial members of our community. All 173 school-level teachers of the year will be honored and celebrated.

However, there can only be one teacher to represent our district at the state level, and the evening will culminate with the announcement of the 2017 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year!

Committees of volunteers have narrowed the pool of educators to five finalists. Thanks to WJXT Channel 4 News, all five finalists for 2017 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year were interviewed live last week. Get to know the finalists, and celebrate with us on February 24 when we announce the 2017 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year:

Caitlyn Stetson

Holly Hultgren

Latrece Brown

Michael Bostic-Jones

Allison Bear







of public schools in Duval County earned an "A," "B," or "C" in 2021-2022.