Duval County School Board Votes on Interim Candidates for Superintendent


Hello! My name is Christian and I will be working with JPEF this summer as a Policy Intern. I am a Political Science and Sociology Double Major at Howard University in Washington D.C. I am a graduate of Stanton College Preparatory School here in Jacksonville!  

- Christian Hall, Policy Intern 

Duval County Public School Board members convened a meeting yesterday to discuss the process for naming an interim Superintendent to replace Dr. Nikolai Vitti. Dr.Vitti’s last day will be May 21. The School Board members voted from a pool of seven potential candidates to select three who would continue on to interview for interim Superintendent. Potential candidates were the following individuals: Dr. Roger Dearing, Dr. Dana Kriznar, Dr. Earl J. Lennard, Kathryn M. Leroy, Dr. Margaret A. Smith, Dr. Patricia Willis, Pearl Roziers.

A little bit of background on each candidate that was considered: 

  • Dr. Roger Dearing is the former Chief Executive Officer of the Florida High school Athletic foundation.

  • Dr. Earl J. Lennard is former Hillsborough Superintendent.

  • Dr. Margaret A. Smith is former Superintendent in Volusia County.

  • Kathy LeRoy was Duval County Public Schools Chief Academic Officer under Superintendent  Ed Pratt-Dannals, then Superintendent in Polk County.

  • Dana Kriznar is currently Duval County Public Schools Chief of Staff.

  • Pearl Roziers is currently Duval County Public Schools Assistant Superintendent School Choice.

  • Dr. Patricia Willis was Deputy Superintendent under former Superintendent Ed Pratt-Dannals.

The Board ranked the seven candidates and selected Pat Willis, Pearl Roziers, Dana Kriznar and Earl Lennard as the top four candidates. After some deliberation, the board finalized their top three choices. The board will reconvene at a  special meeting Wednesday at 8 a.m. to interview their top three candidates: Roziers, Willis, and Lennard.




of public schools in Duval County earned an "A," "B," or "C" in 2021-2022.