Five finalists named for 2015 Duval County Teacher of the Year


Outstanding educators surprised in their classrooms, will go on to March 11 EDDY Awards

Five outstanding public school teachers today were named finalists for the 2015 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year.

The finalists were selected from 15 semi-finalists by a committee of educators, community members and business leaders. All five will attend the EDDY Awards on Wednesday, March 11 at the Times-Union Center for the Performing Arts, where one will be named 2015 Florida Blue Teacher of the Year.

The finalists are:

Michael Bostic-Jones, William M. Raines High
C. Suzanne Evans, Fishweir Elementary
Sabrina Hall, Andrew Jackson High
Kifimbo Holloway-Parnell, Kirby-Smith Middle
Jill Sullivan
, Mayport Coastal Science Middle

Honoring the county's most exceptional educators, the EDDY Awards have evolved over the last few years into a year-long initiative building a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the community and who work to improve our schools, accelerate student achievement and elevate the teaching profession.

"This process is really a reflection of our community's desire to celebrate, highlight and thank Duval County's best teachers," said Trey Csar, president of the Jacksonville Public Education Fund. "Yet as we were celebrating them, each pointed to their students as the source of their true motivation."

The teachers were surprised in their classrooms with a prize patrol including Duval County Public Schools Superintendent Dr. Nikolai P. Vitti and DJ the Dog, the Duval County Public Schools mascot. Finalist Michael Bostic-Jones was attending the Urban Education Symposium and was surprised in front of the crowd of students and educators gathered there.

"Each one of the teachers selected as a 'Teacher of the Year' finalist is an example of the significant role teachers play in the lives of students," Vitti said. "I am so proud to work alongside teachers who are steadily striving for excellence to ensure that ALL of our students are inspired and prepared for success in college, a career, and in life."

Tickets to the EDDY Awards, an initiative of the Jacksonville Public Education Fund, are available at

Learn more about the 15 semi-finalists and all teachers of the year.

 Bostic -Jones _Michael


















of public schools in Duval County earned an "A," "B," or "C" in 2021-2022.