JPEF's Teacher Leadership Summit offers professional development to top teachers


Last Saturday, more than 100 of Duval County's top teachers gathered at the Jesse Ball duPont Center for a daylong Teacher Leadership Summit. 

JPEF welcomed local and national partners to join us in sharing learning with teachers and offering spaces for teachers to learn from each other. Among the presenters were:

We were also honored to welcome several community leaders, who spoke to the teachers about policy issues in public education.

  • Michael Boylan, Jacksonville City Council
  • Elizabeth Andersen, Duval County School Board
  • Darryl Willie, Duval County School Board
  • Alan Bliss, Executive Director of the Jacksonville Historical Society

The Teacher Leadership Summit is the key professional development opportunity in the EDDYs Experience, JPEF's yearlong program to elevate, celebrate and empower teacher leaders in each and every public school in Duval County.

On Thursday, JPEF will announce the semi-finalists for 2020 Duval County Teacher of the Year on the Channel 4 Morning Show. Tune in to find out who will move on to the next round!

The year culminates with the EDDY Awards, an elegant gala celebrating great teaching, where the 2020 Duval County Teacher of the Year is announced. Learn more about EDDY Awards sponsorships here.





of public schools in Duval County earned an "A," "B," or "C" in 2021-2022.