New school board members, leadership installed Tuesday


Tuesday marked the Duval County School Board’s annual organizational meeting, bringing leadership changes and the official installation of new board members.

The board is gaining two new members elected in 2016: Lori Hershey, who won the runoff election in November in District 7, and Warren Jones, elected in August in District 5. Board members Ashley Smith Juarez in District 3 and Cheryl Grymes in District 1 ran without opposition and were automatically re-elected.

Former Board Vice Chair Paula D. Wright was unanimously elected Chair, and former Chair Ashley Smith Juarez was elected Vice Chair.

Congratulations to new school board members and leaders! You can find all of their bios and contact information here.

Photo credit: Duval County Public Schools




of public schools in Duval County earned an "A," "B," or "C" in 2021-2022.