Results of the Duval County School Board elections

Congratulations to our three new members!


Last night, Duval County voters elected three new members of the Duval County School Board.

On behalf of the Jacksonville Public Education Fund, I’d like to extend my heartfelt congratulations to Elizabeth Andersen, Darryl Willie and Charlotte Joyce. Thank you for your leadership in public education.

According to the Duval Supervisor of Elections unofficial results:

  • Elizabeth Andersen won over Nick Howland in District 2 (the Beaches) with 58.25 percent of the vote. Andersen earned 28,955 of the 49,706 votes cast.

  • Darryl Willie won over Cynthia Smith in District 4 (the Northside) with 51.88 percent of the vote. Willie earned 22,483 of the 43,340 votes cast.

  • Charlotte Joyce won over Dave Chauncey in District 6 with 59.15 percent of the vote. Joyce earned 29,381 of the 49,674 votes cast.

It was a highly engaging campaign, with close races in all three districts. Election season is inherently divisive, but I believe it’s an important part of the democratic process. Jacksonville is fortunate to have so many qualified candidates interested in public service to our schools. I am grateful to all the candidates for their commitment to improving education and for their hard work to engage voters in the important issues in public education.

The new members will join Lori Hershey, Ashley Smith Juarez, Warren Jones, and Cheryl Grymes on the Board.

We look forward to partnering with our new School Board to ensure every child in Duval County has access to an excellent public school education.




of public schools in Duval County earned an "A," "B," or "C" in 2021-2022.