See all five teacher of the year finalists interviewed on Channel 4!


More than 900 community members gathered for the 25th Anniversary of the EDDY Awards on March 12 for the annual celebration to elevate the teaching profession! In case you missed it, one of the EDDY Awards sponsors WJXT Channel 4 News interviewed the 2016 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year finalists live from Monday, March 7 to Friday, March 11.

Kay Park, third grade teacher of Alimacani Elementary was announced as the 2016 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year. Park has 30 years of experience as an educator and she exposes her students to different professions by creating a welcoming classroom for all. Check out Kay Park’s interview with WJXT Channel 4 News! 

Here are the four exceptional finalists:

Douglas Brown, Duncan U. Fletcher High

Dionne M. Clayton, Paxon School for Advanced Studios

Jaime Plauche, Fishweir Elementary

Darryl L. White II, Matthew W. Gilbert Middle




of public schools in Duval County earned an "A," "B," or "C" in 2021-2022.