Semi-finalists named for 2013 Duval County Teacher of the Year


January 17, 2013

Semi-finalists named for 2013 Duval County Teacher of the Year
Fifteen outstanding educators will go on to the next selection round in advance of the EDDY Awards

Jacksonville, Fla. - Fifteen outstanding teachers today were named semi-finalists for the 2013 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year. They are:

Stacey Adkins, Central Riverside Elementary

Rebecca Austin-Datta, Darnell-Cookman Middle/High

Thomas Cason, Mandarin High School

Carol Coston, Enterprise Learning Academy

Lynn Dostaler, Seabreeze Elementary

Patricia Foley, Ramona Boulevard Elementary

Susan Harper, Tiger Academy

Elizabeth Kelly, Lone Star Elementary

Blair Nolan, First Coast High School

Natalie Pelham, Annie R. Morgan Elementary

Apryl Shackelford, Northwestern Middle

Carolyn Tuttle, Oceanway Middle

Catherine Watkins, Arlington Heights Elementary

Robyn White, West Jacksonville Elementary

Dayna Yarbrough, James Weldon Johnson Middle

"The finalists aren't only elementary, middle and high school teachers but they are dream builders who build future leaders," said Dr. Nikolai P. Vitti, Superintendent of Duval Schools. "Selecting just one winner will be a difficult task when all of them are winners. I wish the finalists all the best."

The semi-finalists were selected from the Teachers of the Year nominated from every public school in Duval County. From the 15 semi-finalists, five finalists will be selected. The winner will be named 2013 Florida Blue Teacher of the Year at the EDDY Awards on March 14 at the Times-Union Center for the Performing Arts. Tickets are available at The program is a joint venture of the Jacksonville Public Education Fund and the Schultz Center for Teaching and Leadership.

"We are excited to showcase our county's best educators," said Trey Csar, President of the Jacksonville Public Education Fund. "We have so much to learn from these talented professionals."

"Outside of the home, the greatest school factor in a child's learning growth is excellent teaching," said Deborah Gianoulis Heald, President and CEO of the Schultz Center for Teaching and Leadership. "The educators we honor through the EDDY Awards are Jacksonville's citizen makers and job creators."




of public schools in Duval County earned an "A," "B," or "C" in 2021-2022.