Semi-finalists named for 2016 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year


Outstanding educators will advance on to the next selection round of the EDDY Awards

JACKSONVILLE, Fla., January 26, 2016— Fourteen outstanding public school teachers today were named semi-finalists for the 2016 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year.

The semi-finalists were selected from the Teachers of the Year nominated by every public school in Duval County. From the semi-finalists, five finalists will be selected and announced in February.

From those five, the winner will be named 2016 Florida Blue Teacher of the Year at the 25th Anniversary EDDY Awards Gala Dinner on Saturday, March 12 at the Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. Tickets to the EDDY Awards, an initiative of the Jacksonville Public Education Fund, are available at and are $55 per person.

The semi-finalists are:

Emma Araya, Arlington Heights Elementary

Faylene Blake, Greenland Pines Elementary

Douglas Brown, Duncan U. Fletcher High School

Dionne M. Clayton, Paxon School of Advanced Studies

Christopher Collinsworth, Lake Shore Middle School

Stacy Cribb, Sallye B. Mathis Elementary

Sharmaine Grant, Chimney Lakes Elementary

Kay Park, Alimacani Elementary

Erin Patterson, First Coast High School

Jaime Plauche, Fishweir Elementary

Carmen Polanco, Alfred I. duPont Middle School

Rovenia Shaw, Biscayne Elementary

Carie Skube, Brookview Elementary

Darryl L. White, Matthew W. Gilbert Middle School

Honoring the county’s most exceptional educators, the EDDY Awards have evolved over the last few years into a year-long initiative building a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the community and who work to improve our schools, accelerate student achievement and elevate the teaching profession.

“These teachers are outstanding examples of the teaching profession in Duval County,” said Trey Csar, president of the Jacksonville Public Education Fund. “We look forward to working with them throughout the year to elevate the voices of the best educators.”

Photos and more information (including quotes from references) about each of the semi-finalists, as well as a full list of teachers of the year from each school, are available at




of public schools in Duval County earned an "A," "B," or "C" in 2021-2022.