Semi-finalists named for 2017 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year


Fifteen outstanding public school teachers today were named semi-finalists for the 2017 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year.

The semi-finalists were selected from the Teachers of the Year nominated by every public school in Duval County. Thanks to a new partnership with the Deutsche Bank and the Jacksonville Jaguars, the semi-finalists — as well as 2016 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year Kay Park — will be recognized on the field at the Jacksonville Jaguars game on Saturday, December 24. Fans are encouraged to use #JaxThankATeacher to recognize a teacher in their lives who made a difference.

In the new year, five finalists will be selected, and from them, the winner will be named 2017 Florida Blue Teacher of the Year at the 26th Annual EDDY Awards Gala Dinner on Friday, February 24 at the Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. Tickets to the EDDY Awards, an initiative of the Jacksonville Public Education Fund, are available at and are $75 per person.

The semi-finalists are:

Allison Bear

J. Allen Axson Montessori School

Michael Bostic-Jones  

William Raines High School

Latrece Brown

Andrew Robinson Elementary School

Kelly Crayne

Seabreeze Elementary School

Melissa Galjour

Sandalwood High School

Jacquelyn S. Gandy

Thomas Jefferson Elementary School

Vincent H. Hall II

Twin Lakes Academy Middle School

Holly Hultgren

Frank H. Peterson High School

Aurelio Cruz Lorente

West Riverside Elementary School

Simon Michael III

Kernan Middle School

Rade Obradovic

Hyde Park Elementary School

Brent Sawdy

Lake Shore International Baccalaureate World Middle School

Caitlyn Stetson

Reynolds Lane Elementary School

Korry VanWagoner

Twin Lakes Elementary School

Jeanne Walker

Waterleaf Elementary School

Honoring the county’s most exceptional educators, the EDDY Awards have evolved into a year-long initiative building a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the community and who work to improve our schools, accelerate student achievement and elevate the teaching profession.

“Every year we are inspired by the example set by these outstanding educators,” said Trey Csar, president of the Jacksonville Public Education Fund. “We can’t wait to introduce them in front of thousands of people at Saturday’s Jaguars game.”

Photos of each of the semi-finalists, as well as a full list of teachers of the year from each school, are available at




of public schools in Duval County earned an "A," "B," or "C" in 2021-2022.