Semi-finalists named for 2014 Duval County Teacher of the Year


Fifteen outstanding teachers today were named semi-finalists for the 2014 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year.

The semi-finalists were selected from the Teachers of the Year nominated by every public school in Duval County. From the 15 semi-finalists, five finalists will be selected. The winner will be named 2014 Florida Blue Teacher of the Year at the EDDY Awards on March 12 at the Times-Union Center for the Performing Arts.

The semi-finalists are:

Iris Caro, Central Riverside Elementary

Pamela Chaffin, Mandarin High

Kimberly Duffield, Mayport Elementary

Amanda Dyal, Southside Middle

Joseph Frencl, Atlantic Coast High

Michael Khalil, Sandalwood High

Bryan Long, North Shore Elementary

Ashley Payanis, West Jacksonville Elementary

Jesica Pearce, Lake Lucina Elementary

Desirae Royal, J.E.B. Stuart Elementary

Kristen Sands, Jacksonville Heights Elementary

Alethea Tarabishi, Loretto Elementary

Jessica von Eiff, Westview K-8

Christopher Watson, Ortega Elementary

Carol Wright, Mt. Herman Exceptional Center

Tickets to the EDDY Awards are available at The program is a joint venture of the Jacksonville Public Education Fund and the Schultz Center for Teaching and Leadership.

The theme for this year's EDDY Awards is "Celebrating the Heart of Education." Honoring the county's most exceptional educators, the EDDY Awards have evolved over the last few years into a year-long initiative building a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the community and who work to improve our schools, accelerate student achievement and elevate the teaching profession




of public schools in Duval County earned an "A," "B," or "C" in 2018-2019.